Thursday, December 13, 2007

Voting record for Dorgan-Grassely Amendment to the Farm Bill

Here's the nitty gritty on how the senators each voted on the Dorgan-Grassley amendment.

Obama, Clinton, Biden, and Dodd were all present and voted for it. McCain did not vote.

As an interesting and disappointing note, there were four senators that had voted for this amendment both in 2002 and in 2005 that voted "nay" today. Senators Kent Conrad (D-ND), Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), and George Voinovich (R-OH) all switched their votes this year. If these four senators had stayed consistent with their voting record, it would have passed. Boo.


Anonymous said...

why is there no coverage of the world poverty act? People should be outraged by congress skneaking in a vote without discussion.

CCYL said...

Are you talking about the "Global Poverty Act"? I went to and could find nothing called the "World Poverty Act." Please write more about what was outrageous. I'm wondering if I missed some recent news?

I blogged about the Global Poverty Act on Jan 31st. As far as I know, there hasn't been any movement on that since it went to the Senate Foreign relations committee ("Feb 13, 2008: Committee on Foreign Relations. Ordered to be reported with amendments favorably.") Did something happen in committee?